Northern Ireland Executive


The Northern Ireland Assembly and Executive Government


The 1998 Northern Ireland Act established a Devolved Government for Northern Ireland whereby legislative control over specific powers was transferred from the UK to a Northern Ireland Assembly consisting of locally elected politicians. The Assembly then elects the Ministers who form the Executive Government which is chaired jointly by the First and Deputy First Ministers.


The First Minister and deputy First Minister share equal responsibilities within government, and their decisions are made jointly.

Our First Minister is Paul Givan

And deputy First Minister Michelle O'Neill

The Northern Ireland Executive and Assembly have responsibility for the following areas:-


  •     The Economy
  •     Agriculture
  •     Health
  •     Social Security
  •     Housing and Infrastructure
  •     Local Government
  •     Environment
  •     Transport
  •     Culture & Sport
  •     Policing and Justice

News & Events

NI Bureau New Summer 2022


find out more